New Month, New Home

What happened to February????  Even with an extra day my month evaporated.  So many things, so many days of busy running around and wham! Tomorrow is March 1st.  Yikes.

My move went very smoothly.  I was packed up and ready when the movers arrived early February 6th.  Three guys hauled everything down the flights of stairs, packed up the moving truck and we took the long (approximately 4 minute!!!) ride to the new place.  They did smile a bit when they realized it was all going on the first floor and and I had all three doors opened and ready.  They unpacked and reassembled my furniture, beds, hutch, dining table etc and then my daughter arrived and we made a few changes and they were out the door with tip in hand in just under four hours which was the minimum I had to engage them.   Used my granny discount and midweek savings and it was worth every penny.

Things that I wasn’t sure about went relegated to the ‘second bedroom’ which is the guest suite.  I will use this room as my office and play area for the girls as well as the bed for guests.  It has a full ensuite and it is a good sized room with lots of light.  I’m slowing down a bit in emptying boxes since now I have to think about where I want what.  The appeal of this condo was the two large storage closets that in addition to a pantry and bedroom closets and a coat closet leaves me plenty of room for my out of season storage like my Christmas Santas and tree.  Using the plastic shelving I already had the front closet is neat and tidy and still has more room.  The back closet off my bedroom is yet to be even touched so I know I have plenty of room!

The perils of living in three stories is told by my accumulation of scissors!  So far I have found at least six extra pairs-that don’t include my sewing scissors, my crochet bag scissors, my medieval scissors or blunt tip children’s scissors. I’m sure each purchase was after a fit and moaning when I couldn’t find a pair handy.  Now everywhere I look I have scissors so I’ll start sorting and fill another box for the donation center.  (please don’t ask about how many cellophane tape dispensers or staplers I have found or how many more are yet to be unboxed!  Arghhh.

So far the neighbors I’ve met are quiet and lovely.  My location is verrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrry quiet.  My walks with Joey are  rarely noticed by any other dogs and there is almost no street traffic.  My unit faces the back and my assigned parking spot is directly in front of my patio.  The building has a security door and Joey is learning to wait for the click when I put my code in.  It is a million times easier to walk him and I am not missing the stairs at all.  Plus I can walk to Katy’s house with barely a sweat.  I’m sure more people will start popping up once the weather decides to be fully spring and stop yo-yoing back and forth between arctic chill and warm sunshine.  Global warming in a short week.

I suppose the biggest downside of moving was the pain in my hands and the limitations that the arthritis placed on me.  I had to learn to stop and rest and then wear very ugly braces to keep my thumb stabilized.  and I raged against it.  My doc gave me a round of steroids and gee it was nice to be able to hold a pen and take care of personal care!!!  Long term prognosis has me with gnarled fingers and excruciating pain doing any thing with my hands…..sigh….

Leave a comment